The third book in James Batchelor's Crusades Series has finally arrived!
The Darkest Knight

The long awaited to follow up to The Knights Mourning is finally here!

In book two of the Crusades Series, The Knights Mourning, The Dawnings were betrayed by one of their own. Ambushed on their own lands, the army was decimated by the combined might of a Saracen-Braddock force.

When it was clear that defeat was inevitable, Richard ordered the remnants of the Dawning chivalry back to fortify Dawning Castle in a last desperate attempt to preserve the barony, while he and William attempted to delay the enemy.

Now, sealed in the castle with only a handful of trained soldiers, those who are left struggle to mount a defense against a superior army and an unseen enemy within the castle working against them at every step.

Read James Batchelor's post on what publishers look for in manuscripts.
Red Flags For Big Publishing Houses

The world of Publishing has changed dramatically over the last decade. There is no doubt about it. We live in a time when anyone, regardless of subject matter or talent, can publish their work to the world with the investment of nothing more than time. And though there are often many reasons–and even benefits–to going the self-published route, let’s face it, the big publishing houses still lend credibility to any novel. Especially a new novel from a relatively unknown author. Though the big houses may not be as important as they once were, a reader knows that any book that comes from a publishing house has been professionally edited, proofread, and reviewed by any number of industry professionals. And while it may be argued that this can have a watering-down effect as publishers try to force novels into rigidly formulaic parameters, the level of investment and professionalism that comes from the big boys is something that a self-published author very often do not have the resources or understanding to give to his or her own work.

Read more

Book 2
The Knights Mourning

The Dawnings are at war! After narrowly surviving a surprise attack on their own soil, the family is passionately divided over how to use their failing resources to respond to the Braddock army at their gates, the escalating tension with the crown, and an unknown enemy in their midst. The mounting danger to the family and their way of life exposes the deep rifts among the brothers, and drives them even further apart as the struggle for control of Dawning Court rages ever hotter.

Book 1
See where it all began with the first book in the crusades series.
The Knights Dawning

13th century England: The nobility is aligning against King John in a struggle for power. The kingdom is embroiled in war and bankrupt, and the Crusades are rampaging through the Middle East. The Dawnings are a once-powerful family of English knights who are facing the bleak prospects of their declining power and imminent destruction at the hands of enemies that surround them both at home and abroad…

Hall of Mages

The Northern Kingdoms have lived in relative peace since the end of The Exile, a war that was fought between the races. The humans banished the Shaldean and Islanii races to First World, and attempted to hunt the shape-shifting Danshii to extinction.